On endings…

I wanted a perfect ending. Now I’ve learned, the hard way, that some poems don’t rhyme, and some stories don’t have a clear beginning, middle, and end. Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next.

     Gilda Radner, actress and comedian (1946-1989)

I hate endings, too.  I’ve never been good at them and there’s never a perfect time.  But with the New Year coming, I’ve decided to take a break from teaching at the jail.  

Part of what  made the decision so difficult was that I don’t feel as if I’ve finished anything.  I’ve graduated plenty of students in nearly three years of teaching employability skills, but it’s unclear how many have been successful finding jobs.  And  unfortunately the supply of new recruits never ends.

For a number of reasons, however, it’s time to step away for now.  I’ve been stretched thin with work and other responsibilities.   I was also starting to feel burnt out, which in teaching is never a good thing.   Perhaps a break will refresh me and I’ll return. Or perhaps I’ll find a different way to help. I don’t know.   I just feel it’s time to talk to people on the outside and pursue some other projects I’ve been putting off.

In any event, I plan to continue the  Out and Employed blog as a resource for my former students and others looking to start over. I hope you’ll  forgive my absence and look for me to start posting again in the New Year.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment