Lindsay Lohan’s jail break

Jail is an awful, dehumanizing place, and I don’t envy Lindsay Lohan for having to spend time there.

In case you’ve fallen behind in your tabloid reading: Lohan, the talented, but increasingly troubled actress, began serving a 90-day sentence today at the women’s jail in Lynwood, California.  She got it for failing to show up to court and violating the terms of her probation on earlier misdemeanor drug and driving charges.  

 In the run-up to her surrender, there was a predictable face-off between those who felt Lohan was getting what she deserved and those who thought she’d be better off in a rehab program.

While I agree that jail isn’t going to cure  a serious substance abuse problem, I have to say I’m glad she’s there.   And no, not just because this proves a famous actress isn’t above the law and has to pay for what she’s done like everyone else.   Initially, I thought that might be why as I’ve often expressed how I feel about rich or celebrated lawbreakers getting special treatment.

But ultimately, I realized it was more because of Lohan’s similarities to others who are doing time  behind bars.   If you take out the spoiled actress part and all the money, she’s actually a  pretty typical inmate.  Consider:

Lohan, who first charmed me playing twin sisters in “The Parent Trap,” has some incredible gifts.  My hope  is that she’s able to see this as a wake-up call and use her time away from society — which is expected in the end to be around 23 days — to face her problems.  Going to rehab is almost fashionable among the Hollywood set.  But sometimes people need a bigger dose of reality to get them to truly want to change.   Just as with Roberty Downey Jr.,  whose drug use ultimately earned him a prison term, this could be a turning point for Lohan. 

Readers, what do you think?  Have any of you ever been prompted to change your life or deal with major shortcomings because of  a jail or prison term?  How did you do it?

1 Comment

Filed under addiction and recovery, alternatives to incarceration, life in prison, personal responsibility, second chances, sentencing alternatives, starting over, taking responsibility, women ex-offenders

One response to “Lindsay Lohan’s jail break

  1. Thankfully, I have had no problems that would land me in jail. I did get in trouble in school once, for misbehaving, and had to go to detention. I did what I was supposed to do. And it scared the crap out of me. I do appreciate the power of authority.

    I’m wondering, though, how much these celebrity inmates learn if they serve so little of their sentences. She served less than two weeks of her 90-day sentence. And now news reports say she may get out of her rehab sentence early as well. I don’t see why that’s a good thing. Fine. Let her out of jail early. The jails are crowded. Maybe sitting in a cell won’t help her. But let her out of rehab, too?! I’m curious to know why that is. Does she not have a drug or alcohol problem after all?

    I’d be doubtful of that, since the DUI did occur, and she did, in fact, not take responsibility for her probation violation. It was always something else that caused her to violate it. And her mother seems to follow right along in her thinking. So, I wonder if she’s just going to wind back up in front of a judge somewhere. Moving to New York, her next solution, probably won’t cut it. I guess we wait and see, and hope.

Leave a Reply

