While I was out ….

Happy belated Independence Day!  There’s been so much going on  that I’m sorry to have been away. 

Now that I’m back, however, I’ll try to spend the rest of this week talking about what’s happening on the legislative front in terms of criminal justice reform and other measures to assist ex-offenders.

Rep. Bobby Scott (D-VA)

On that score,  the first thing I wanted to direct your attention to is some terrific work being done by Representative  Bobby Scott (D, VA) to help offenders with some of the barriers faced in reentry.  Translation: he wants to do something to minimize the negative impacts of background checks. 

 On June 9, Scott chaired hearings on the topic and introduced  H.R. 5300, the “Fairness and Accuracy in Employment Background Checks Act.” If passed, this bill would require the FBI to update it’s woefully inaccurate database so that any arrest or conviction records use correct and up -to -date information.  As I’ve noted before, the FBI database is notorious for failing to note cases where charges were dropped, or a defendant was later found innocent.   This bill would require these records to be updated.   

I found all this information and even copies of the testimony before Scott’s committee in a recent update from the always thorough National Reentry Resource Center.  So check it out.

1 Comment

Filed under background checks, employers hiring ex-offenders, jobs ex-offenders

One response to “While I was out ….

  1. Kristie

    I thought it updated automatically so I guess I should go back and re do the back ground checks I thought were correct. I have been keeping track of roommates and now I feel behind. Thanks for the update.

Leave a Reply

