Don’t sell yourself short: any experience counts!

After posting for 31 straight days as part of WordCount Blogathon 2010, I know I’ve fallen off a bit this week.  Please  forgive me.  I’ve been catching up on everything I’ve neglected, and working on some more involved future stories. I’m also in the process of putting together the final resumes for the students in my latest class, which is invariably a multi-step process.

Yesterday, I gave back their rough drafts  with my questions.  As always, I was amazed at the work experience and achievements people had left off their resumes.

Some examples from this and previous classes:

  • Developing  a fundraising campaign that brought in $5,000 over three days for a non-profit.
  • Helping with the relocation of an automotive business.
  • Managing the books for a clothing business.
  • Being selected employee of the month.
  • Winning the volunteer of the year award.

In four of these cases, the reason was because the work was done on a voluntary/unpaid basis.   To which I say, so what?  Experience is experience and if I were an employer I’d be very interested in someone who was a natural fundraiser or an organization’s best worker of the year, unpaid or not.

So when you’re making a list of what you have to offer an employer, don’t rule out volunteer work, or projects you’ve undertaken on your own. And don’t forget awards or recognition you’ve received, even they don’t seem that important.  Theses are the achievements that often make you unique, and hence, just the person the employer wants to hire.

2 Comments

Filed under companies hiring ex-offenders, employment assistance ex-offenders, employment ex-offenders, inspiration, job search ex-offenders, jobs ex-offenders, resumes, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Don’t sell yourself short: any experience counts!

  1. selling ourselves. promoting ourselves. we must today. so much of everything is about hanging every ornament on our resumes that we can in the hopes something catches the attention of the reader. yeah.

Leave a Reply

